Official thread to practise English v.2.

Normas básicas / Basic rules

1- nada de pedir que se te hagan/corrijan redacciones o se ocultará. // No essays. We are not here to do your homework
2- postead sobre el tema antes de preguntar alguna duda o se ocultará. // You must write about the topic. If you want to ask something you must contribute to the thread
3- nada de preguntar sobre resources o se ocultará //Do not ask for resources

Petricor

#150 Thanks!

I think you translate some expressions directly from Spanish which sound weird in English

Could you point them? I wanna improve them 😀

1 respuesta
rapskar

#151 I'm not an expert myself but when I read your text it feels a bit weird and I always can think of the Spanish sentence you were probably trying to translate. Don't worry too much about it because I think everybody would understand what you were trying to say and if you keep practicing you will improve your expression little by little.

I can tell you a couple of things I saw in your posts and some others that I think are pretty common for Spanish speakers though.

1. We use too much the present perfect tense (I think this is the name) or similar.

I have improved a lot on these last months

is good becaus it's still happening but

I have thought sometimes

would be better in past tense.

2. We also use too much the infinitive tense, as it would be the direct translation from Spanish. For instance in

at the time of speak/write

you should use the ing ending.

But like I said, I'm not a grammar expert and I still do many mistakes myself so other people would be able to help you better. But I'll try to participate in this thread more often to help you guys practice if you want.

2 1 respuesta
B

So because I've seen most of you struggling with phrasal verbs, I've decided to make a post:

Phrasal verbs

Explanation